top of page
  • 417foodist

Greek Belly


There are always places you become fond of when it comes to eating your way through an areas restaurants. Maybe it’s that favorite appetizer or the tasty dessert menu. Maybe it’s the atmosphere of the restaurant that brings you back every time. Shoot, it could just be that the staff is so friendly that it makes you want to come back every week!


Now let’s say you find that special place and it covers all of these things. A place that has staff that always greets you at the door or has a great recommendation to try. A place that had a menu so good, that you might have a favorite item, but you know there are other things that are just as mind blowing! A place that is decorated in a manor that is inviting and cozy, that you could just hang out for a while with friends or family even after your meal is over!


I believe I have found that place. John Tsahiridis, owner of Greek Belly in downtown Springfield has put together a restaurant that is not only aesthetically pleasing to the eyes, but has an awesome menu that is fully loaded with flavorful dishes for your taste buds. Greek pita, falafel, baklava and more...you want it, Greek Belly has it! I was very excited to get to interview John about his restaurant, and I hope you enjoy some insight into this fabulous eatery right here in the 417.




BD: Greek Belly has been open for almost 2 years now, what drove you to want to open your own restaurant?


John: I’ve been in the restaurant business for over 25 years. Started out as a busser for a fine dining restaurant. Worked at numerous restaurants and hotels after that. Before Greek Belly, I was the GM for Galloway Station for 13 years. First it was the art of hospitality that intrigued me. Then it was the business of hospitality that got me. Hospitality is in my genes. Greek genes. So, I wanted to showcase my background, my culture and upbringing. I always enjoyed the challenge. It drove my passion.


BD: Being of Greek heritage, did you use recipes that your family used when you were growing up?


John: Half of my recipes and inspiration come from my mom. Heck of a cook. The best. She has hundreds of recipes. I was a late bloomer in cooking. The most awesome thing is how this has made us even closer. Sharing recipes. Techniques. Fine tuning. Constantly fine tuning. She is amazing. I never realized how much I would lean on her.



BD: There are so many delicious items on the menu, everything from baklava to souvlaki. Is there one item that is more popular than the other?


John: Gyros and Baklava. It’s never one thing, that’s by design. My menu could be 3 times bigger. I have a lot of things I can make. Too many ideas.




BD: The inside of Greek Belly, in my opinion is one of the most uniquely decorated restaurants in the 417. Where did you draw your inspiration from when deciding to go with the umbrellas hanging from the ceiling?


John: The umbrellas idea come from the Greek islands and the city of Thessaloniki.

The general decor and atmosphere are a combination of a Greek village and Greek islands. I was raised in a small Greek village.






BD: How long is the process when it comes to prepping and cooking the variety of meats that are cooked on a spit?


John: It depends on how busy we are. Those 2 big rotisserie machines, that are in the restaurant, are from Greece. Top of the line. I can have meat ready in 15-20 minutes, if needed. We generally slow roast throughout the whole day and try to stay ahead. Constantly basting a spit in its own juices and Greek Olive Oil. We constantly prep the whole day. We stay busy lol.


BD: Being a Greek restaurant, do you locally source a lot of your ingredients, or are you able to import authentic items from overseas?


John: I try to locally source as much as possible. As FRESH as possible.

I source anything and everything I can from Greece. Always looking for more.

Sea salt. Pure Greek Extra Virgin Olive Oil. Red Wine Vinegar. Oregano. Olives. Pepperoncini. FETA and other cheeses. Coffee. Chocolate. Biscuits. Roasted Red Peppers. Soda. To name a few...




BD: What does the future look like for Greek Belly? Anything new in the works coming up?


John: Fine tuning operations is always my priority. Recently added a full bar and will be adding a cocktail menu. Recently released my first menu revision, but it’s not complete yet. Soon. The final version will add a few new dishes and better descriptions. The name and concept of Greek Belly will always be about having fun and a happy belly. My goal is to make everyone Happy and yelling OPA!



John Tsahiridis, owner of Greek Belly


197 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page