top of page
  • 417foodist

Dani's Flour Pot Bakery


Pie: a baked dish of fruit, or meat and vegetables, typically with a top and base of pastry. How is it that something so simple, can be so delicious? As far back as I can remember, pie has always been one of my favorite desserts. I remember going to a local store in Nixa, Mo that sold all sorts of bread goods and getting the Hostess fried pies. Apple and cherry were always my go to choice. I also remember going to the grocery store with my grandpa and him buying me the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtle pudding pies! So needless to say, pie has always been there for me.



When I started the journey of the whole food blog deal, I quickly learned that pie is more than just a dessert, it can be an art form. So long are the years of apple and cherry being the rulers of the pie world, or the standard pot pie having to be just chicken or turkey. Were in a pie utopia now, where you can get a lemon cranberry pie, or a mushroom and Gorgonzola savory pie. You now can go to your local farmers market and find all varieties of pies that will surly brighten up your day.






This leads me to this weeks interview. I have followed her accounts for a while now, both on Facebook and Instagram. Danielle Hunnell is the owner of Dani's Flour Pot Bakery, and has been tempting the taste buds of folks here in the 417 with many great pies, both sweet and savory! I hope you enjoy this weeks read, and that you reach out to Dani to fulfill your every day pie needs!




BD: What inspired you to start Dani’s Flour Pot Bakery?


Danielle: I have always had a passion for cooking and even went to school for a bit to be a chef, but dropped out after realizing you actually DO have to take those other courses. I never really had any interest in baking, growing up my Mom wasn't really big into sweets so dessert was never on our radar. When I returned to Missouri after doing a chef internship at Yosemite National Park, I went back to serving at a restaurant and a regular customer of mine asked if I ever made pies and I responded with no. Later that evening I thought “why not?” so I began to teach myself how to make pies which brings me to where I am today!


BD: You offer such a variety of pies, some more unique than others! How do you come up with the different recipes, like the mushroom and Gorgonzola pie?


Danielle: With most of my pies I try and think about the flavors that I like to taste together. Or other dishes that I really enjoy and then I'll experiment by making a pie out of them. Most of the time with my savory pies I think of my favorite soups and turn it into a pie filling. The mushroom Gorgonzola is actually a favorite pasta sauce that I make and figured it would be great in a pot pie. I try to bring pretty unique flavors that will make people guess, instead of just sticking to your typical boring lemon meringue pie.






BD: You offer both savory and sweet pies. Is there one that is more popular than the other?


Danielle: As soon as I started offering the savory pies they really took off. plus they're so easy to freeze and then bake them when you're ready. people love sweet pies of course but other than the frozen pot pies you get from the store, we really don't have a lot of savory pie options here in Springfield. I may be biased though because I absolutely love making the savory pies.


BD: Do you have a personal favorite from your menu?


Danielle: Out of the sweet pies my number one favorite is the Gooseberry pie. They're hard to find and a pain to prep but I just love how tart they are. Most places who sell Gooseberry Pies will load it up with sugar but I enjoy leaving mine a bit more tart than usual. for the savory pies, my favorite would have to be the Curry Chicken and Rice. I just love curry, and it's even better in a pie. I do a vegetable curry one too and it is so yummy.




BD: I must ask, you often pose the pies with a mannequin on your social media accounts, where did this idea start!


Danielle: So, that’s pretty funny. It started as a joke. I was trying to promote Valentine’s Day pies and I thought it would be funny if I posed with my mannequin and acted like we were on a date eating pie. Customers found it really funny so now I just have fun coming up with different props for the mannequins.







BD: What does the future look like for the bakery? Any big plans in store?


Danielle: The secret is out now but i did just purchase a trailer that will be turned into a “pie trailer”. i am SO EXCITED. I will have a permanent spot on west Republic road behind a produce stand (that has amazing Amish tomatoes). Customers will be able to come get a slice of pie or a whole one. Soups and Salads. Mock-tails and possibly Kombucha on tap. I plan to have a nice sitting area outside where they can eat pie and enjoy the sunshine. I am aiming to open the first of June, Covid permitting. Other than that I am also doing the Commercial Street farmers market on Thursdays and Saturdays.


Danielle Hunnell, owner and operator of Dani's Flour Pot Bakery



194 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page