top of page
  • 417foodist

Davalon


Ever since I was a kid, I have always had a love for Asian food. Of course at that time in the 90's and in small town Missouri, the closest thing to Asian food I could get my hands on was your typical American Chinese food. Lots of cashew, sweet and sour and general chicken.


It wasn't until I was in my 20's when I had a buddy tell me about a lunch he had at Soo's Korean Restaurant in Springfield, that my interest peaked up again to be able to try something new. I had grown up loving to cook, and to watch anything I could about the culinary industry. I loved watching Bobby Flay on the Early show on CBS and I diligently watched the first reality show that I ever really had interest called The Restaurant, which followed chef Rocco DiSpirito as he opened a new restaurant in NYC. These things always drove me to want to try new foods, always wanting to eat something outside the norm.


Well after enjoying a great lunch at Soo's, I continued my Korean food journey at a place that I loved to frequent in Springfield called Yoshi Jen. Now Yoshi Jen is located perfectly near the movie theater, so it became our go to place to eat dinner before seeing the newest superhero film out at the time. Well, eventually Yoshi Jen closed their doors and I had to sadly move along to find a new spot.


Then, like the superhero I never knew I needed, in comes Cody Davis and his food truck Davalon! Bringing all sorts of new Asian fusion to my palate and keeps surprising me with each new dish he creates! From Korean style hot dogs covered in kimchi, to bulgogi cheese steaks. Cody is bringing Asian fusion to the 417 that we have need for quite some time! So without further ado please enjoy the interview I had the privilege of doing with Cody Davis, below!




BD: How long have you been in the restaurant business?


Cody: 25 Years and have worked every position... 8 years in the front of the house and 17 years studying to become a Chef


BD: You previously were a sous chef for Ocean Zen, how did it prep you for branching out on your own?


Cody: Couldn't have asked for a better experience! It was boot camp to say the least, but this industry is NOT for the weak. Watching and learning cooking techniques, organization, timing, leadership skills and eventually working side by side with the Tans made me the Chef I am today. Much respect to the brothers and the whole Tan family 



BD: Were there any menu items from Ocean Zen that inspired items on Davalon’s menu?


Cody: A little bit... One of my main jobs at Ocean Zen was as their Saucier, so naturally I had to come up with some great sauces to pair. As for the food... some, but mostly using techniques I've acquired through the years

working at Ocean Zen



BD: You are currently set up at the Route 66 food truck park on St. Louis street in Springfield. Do you still have plans to do some traveling to neighboring towns or festivals?


Cody: Tough call! I would like to get out for the Springfield Food Truck Festival for sure! I'm going to miss traveling around, but the food truck Park is a great way for our customers to always know where to find us.... Not so much of the cat and mouse scenario


BD: How would you describe the food at Davalon to someone who hasn’t had the opportunity to try it yet?


Cody: Asian fusion pretty much. I'm trying to take all that I've learned through the years and kind of twist it. Kind of expect a blend of Korean, Japanese, Vietnamese and traditional Chinese cooking



BD: I have seen on social media that you are always experimenting with new recipes. Where do you draw inspiration from when creating these, and do you plan to rotate new items in and out of the menu?


Cody: I HAVE TO PLAY! I can not cook the same dish day after day... always need to be learning and experimenting. I'm constantly studying other Chef's and taking concepts that work in certain scenarios and plugging them into another. Definitely expect to see some new menu items or features pop up... I have a nice bag of tricks that are just begging to come out



BD: Is there anything new or exciting planned for Davalon’s future?


Cody: For sure! I have about 3 more concepts just ready to go. Always thinking of the next move and what the 417 area hasn't seen or could use... just a matter of time.



Cody Davis, owner and operator of Davalon Food Truck



272 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page